DEU was founded on the 20th of July 1982 by “Higher Education Instututes Foundation Law no: 41” as the second state university in İzmir, after Ege University. Dokuz Eylul University started with a total of 24 facilities, which were aquired from Ege University, the Ministry of Education,Youth and Sports, and the Ministry of Culture and Tourism.

Dokuz Eylül University has gone through an intense growth process and increased in size by its 10th anniversary in 1992 to 41 institutions, distributed across 5 cities in the Aegean Region. Subsequently  some of these institutions have contributed to the foundation of four other universities:  Adnan Menderes University- Aydın, Muğla University- Muğla, Celal Bayar University- Manisa and Pamukkale University- Denizli.

As of 2017, our university has  15 faculties, 10 institutes and graduate schools, 4 schools, 1 conservatory, 7 vocational schools, 58 research centers and DEPARK making a total of 96 academic institutions.

DEU acknowledges the importance of education, research (including knowledge transfer) and innovation in the face of increasing global competition. The mission of DEU is to foster quality improvements, innovation excellence and internationalisation of higher education and research by enhanced transnational cooperation between education and training institutions, businesses and other stakeholders. Thus, DEU aims to contribute to economic, cultural and social well-being of society.

Our university provides education to 75.987 students in total with 3263 academic staff  and 3248  administrative staff.

Dokuz Eylül University is a city university with campuses located in several districts of İzmir. Our university offers education and training in different campuses covering in total 5.731.800 square meters (670.573 sqm) which are based in Buca (Center– Dokuzçeşmeler – Tınaztepe) Balçova, İnciraltı, Alsancak, Narlıdere, Hatay, Urla, Seferihisar, Ürkmez, Karşıyaka, Foça, Torbalı, Bergama and Selçuk.

Dokuz Eylul University has  one of the best hospitals in Turkey,  with qualified academic staff, advanced buildings and technical equipment and a history of  educational success.

Our university has established a world class R&D Center. Some of the planned activities of the R&D Center are to conduct research on “cellular treatments”, “cancer biology” and “the molecular biology of genetic disorders”
Our university offers double degree programs and in some programs in the Faculty of Business and the Maritime Faculty.

The Dokuz Eylul University Distant Learning Research and Application Center conducts distant learning opportunities on the internet ( for students who prefer courses freed from time and location constraints. ILITAM (The Theological Degree Completion) program has provided learning opportunities to 300 students from several locations in Turkey.

The university has one central library and 12 libraries connected to the central library with capacity for 2,948 readers in a total of 20,127 m² actual area.

DEU has been awarded Diploma Supplement Label and European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) Label by the European Commision.

 EUA_logo  eaie_logo   layout_set_logo

Academic Year Click for 2016-2017 Academic Calendar!

Click for 2017-2018 Academic Calendar!

Click for 2018-2019 Academic Calendar!

Education Language English / Turkish
Institutes and Graduate Schools
  • Graduate School Of Fine Arts
  • Graduate School Of Natural And Applied Sciences
  • Graduate School Of Social Sciences
  • Institute Of Education Sciences
  • Izmir International Biomedicine And Genome Institute
  • Principles Of Atatürk And Turkish Revolution History
  • The Institute Of Health Sciences


  • Buca Faculty Of Education
  • Faculty Of Architecture
  • Faculty Of Business
  • Faculty Of Economics And Administrative Sciences
  • Faculty Of Engineering
  • Faculty Of Fine Arts
  • Faculty Of Law
  • Faculty Of Letters
  • Faculty Of Medicine
  • Faculty Of Nursing
  • Faculty Of Science
  • Faculty Of Sport Sciences
  • Faculty Of Theology
  • Maritime Faculty
  • Reha Midilli Foça Faculty Of Tourism


  • School Of Physical Therapy And Rehabilition
  • Seferihisar Fevziye Hepkon School Of Applied Sciences
  • State Conservatory
Vocational Schools
  • Bergama Vocational School
  • Efes Vocational School
  • Izmir Vocational School
  • Torbalı Vocational School
  • Vocational School Of Healthcare
  • Vocational School Of Justice

In our university, there are total 150 groups including 29 rectorate community and 121 faculty, collage and technical collage managed by DEU Health, Culture and Sport Facilities Directorate.

DEU Health, Culture and Sports Facilities Directorate has 5 main kitchens. There are 12 student and 9 staff cafeterias where these kitchens serve daily 8000 lunches and dinners for students of evening education and 3 meals  everyday to  DEU Student Dormitory. Additionally the kitchens serve the remote campuses like Torbali, Seferihisar and Foca.  The fixed menu consisting of 4 dishes is prepared with the help of dieticians according to the daily nutrition  requirements of the students.
The students can benefit from the food facilities using their smart cards by loading  between 11:45- 14:00.
Additional to these cafeterias managed by DEU Health, Culture and Sport Facilities Directorate, there are also many private run cafeterias around the campuses serving beverages, food and fast food.
All DEU students can benefit from the social facilities managed by DEU Health, Culture and Sports Facilities Directorate.



Dokuz Eylül University

Cumhuriyet Bulvarı No:144

Alsancak – İzmir

35210 Turkey

Erasmus Code TR IZMIR 01
PIC Code (Erasmus+) 999871636
Phone +90(232) 412 12 12
Fax +90 (232) 464 81 35

gb_kapak_eng  lisans-booklet-eng