DEU was founded on the 20th of July 1982 by “Higher Education Instututes Foundation Law no: 41” as the second state university in İzmir, after Ege University. Dokuz Eylul University started with a total of 24 facilities, which were aquired from Ege University, the Ministry of Education,Youth and Sports, and the Ministry of Culture and Tourism.

Dokuz Eylül University has gone through an intense growth process and increased in size by its 10th anniversary in 1992 to 41 institutions, distributed across 5 cities in the Aegean Region. Subsequently  some of these institutions have contributed to the foundation of four other universities:  Adnan Menderes University- Aydın, Muğla University- Muğla, Celal Bayar University- Manisa and Pamukkale University- Denizli.

As of 2019, our university has 17 faculties, 10 institutes and graduate schools, 3 schools, 1 conservatory, 6 vocational schools, 60 research centers, 1 Research and Application Hospital and DEPARK.

DEU acknowledges the importance of education, research (including knowledge transfer) and innovation in the face of increasing global competition. The mission of DEU is to foster quality improvements, innovation excellence and internationalisation of higher education and research by enhanced transnational cooperation between education and training institutions, businesses and other stakeholders. Thus, DEU aims to contribute to economic, cultural and social well-being of society.

Our university provides education to 72.540 students in total with 3294 academic staff  and 3223  administrative staff.

Dokuz Eylül University is a city university with campuses located in several districts of İzmir. Our university offers education and training in different campuses covering in total 5.731.800 square meters (670.573 sqm) which are based in Buca (Center– Dokuzçeşmeler – Tınaztepe) Balçova, İnciraltı, Alsancak, Narlıdere, Hatay, Urla, Seferihisar, Ürkmez, Karşıyaka, Foça, Torbalı, Bergama and Selçuk.

Dokuz Eylul University has  one of the best hospitals in Turkey,  with qualified academic staff, advanced buildings and technical equipment and a history of  educational success.

Our university has established a world class R&D Center. Some of the planned activities of the R&D Center are to conduct research on “cellular treatments”, “cancer biology” and “the molecular biology of genetic disorders”
Our university offers double degree programs and in some programs in the Faculty of Business and the Maritime Faculty.

The Dokuz Eylul University Distant Learning Research and Application Center conducts distant learning opportunities on the internet ( for students who prefer courses freed from time and location constraints. ILITAM (The Theological Degree Completion) program has provided learning opportunities to 300 students from several locations in Turkey.

The university has one central library and 14 libraries connected to the central library with capacity for 2,336 readers in a total of 19,637 m² actual area.

DEU has been awarded Diploma Supplement Label and European Credit Transfer System (ECTS) Label by the European Commision.

Academic Year An academic year has two terms consisting of 16/17 weeks. Fall semester
begins in September, ends in January and spring semester begins in
February, ends in June. The academic calendar for the subsequent academic
year is announced in May.2020-2021 Academic Calendar
Languages of Instruction English / Turkish
Graduate School of Educational Sciences
Graduate School of Fine Arts
Graduate School ofHealth Sciences
Graduate School ofNatural and Applied Sciences
Graduate School of Social Sciences
Institute of Principles of Atatürk and Turkish Revolution History
Faculties  Faculty of Architecture
Faculty of Business
Faculty of Economics and Administrative Sciences
Faculty of Education
Faculty of Engineering
Faculty of Fine Arts
Faculty of Law
Faculty of Letters
Faculty of Medicine
Faculty of Medical Sciences
Faculty of Science
Faculty of Theology
Maritime Faculty
Reha Midilli Foca Faculty of Tourism
Schools  School of Physical Therapy and Rehabilitation
School of Sports Sciences and Technology
Seferihisar Fevziye Hepkon School of Applied Sciences
State Conservatory
Izmir Vocational School
TorbalıVocational School
Vocational School ofHealth Services
Vocational School ofJudicial Practices
Vocational School of Theology

The students of DEU have the opportunity to pursue their sporting or recreational interests indoors and outdoors. For indoor sports, there are two sports halls, which can be used for a variety of sports such as basketball, volleyball, handball and wrestling, including a gymnasium with a fully equipped exercise/training room. In most faculties and schools, table tennis rooms are also available. For outdoor sports, the University has extensive playing fields on every campus, i.e. two carpet–based mini football field, tennis, basketball and volleyball courts. Each year, the University traditionally organizes a series of intramural competitions leading to the Varsity Cup, as well as special tournaments in table games such as chess.

161 student clubs and societies are open to interested students at various faculties and schools. Included are Modern Dance, Folk Dance, Drama, Turkish Classic Music, Pop Music, Folk Music, Tennis, Aeronautics, Maritime, and Mountaineering, Sports Club etc.

Since the year 2000, university organizes Spring Festival for the students during the 2nd week of May. The festival includes cultural, artistic sportive activities and entertainment with participation of national and international groups. Apart from the social and sportive activities organized during the academic year, between June and September, the university organizes a student recreation camp located on the Aegean Sea coast around Seferihisar (approx. 40 minutes from the city center), which is available for 200 students.

For more information please take a look at Dokuz Eylul University Students Handbook